Unofficial guide · Updated October 1, 2026
OpenClaw alternatives in 2026: managed agents vs open-source forks
OpenClaw made the always-on personal agent mainstream, but running it means owning the setup, the hardware and the security. Since September 2026 there’s a new option: the big labs now ship managed versions of the same idea. Here are the alternatives worth knowing about, split by how much control you want to keep.
By the Dots Playbook editors · Checked against 19 sources on October 1, 2026 · 8 min read
On this page
The short answer
- No server, no setup: OpenAI dots, Meta Muse or Google Gemini Spark.
- Stay open source: Hermes Agent for features, NanoClaw for container isolation, PicoClaw for tiny hardware.
- In the UK or EU: self-host, or use dots via ChatGPT Business Premium.
- Just recurring tasks: Claude Cowork scheduled tasks or Manus may be enough.
Key facts
- Launched
- Sep 29, 2026
- Model
- GPT-6 Astra
- Included in
- Pro, Business Premium
- Create on
- Desktop only
- Minimum age
- 18
Why people look for OpenClaw alternatives
OpenClaw is a free, open-source agent you run on your own Mac, Linux or Windows machine and talk to over 20+ messaging apps (GitHub (OpenClaw Foundation)). It’s hugely popular, with around 390,000 GitHub stars as of October 1, 2026. The usual reasons to look elsewhere:
- Security. Its docs note that tools run on the host by default with sandboxing optional, and Palo Alto Networks’ Unit 42 found malicious skills on ClawHub delivering infostealers (Unit 42, Palo Alto Networks).
- Setup and upkeep. You install, configure and keep a machine running yourself.
- Resource use. It’s a large TypeScript codebase; lighter rewrites exist for small hardware (GitHub (T31K)).
Quick comparison
| Alternative | Type | Price | UK / EU |
|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI dots | Managed, always-on | With ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium | Business Premium only |
| Meta Muse | Managed, always-on, consumer | Free tier + paid plans | No (US only) |
| Google Gemini Spark | Managed, 24/7 in Google apps | Google AI Pro or Ultra | No |
| xAI Grok Bot | Managed, always-on (beta) | SuperGrok or Cursor plans | Not stated |
| Hermes Agent | Open source, self-hosted | Free + model/hosting costs | Yes |
| NanoClaw | Open source, container-isolated | Free + model/hosting costs | Yes |
| Nanobot | Open source, lightweight Python | Free + model/hosting costs | Yes |
| IronClaw | Open source, security-focused | Free + model/hosting costs | Yes |
| PicoClaw | Open source, tiny hardware | Free + model/hosting costs | Yes |
OpenAI dots
- Type
- Managed, always-on
- Price
- With ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium
- UK / EU
- Business Premium only
Meta Muse
- Type
- Managed, always-on, consumer
- Price
- Free tier + paid plans
- UK / EU
- No (US only)
Google Gemini Spark
- Type
- Managed, 24/7 in Google apps
- Price
- Google AI Pro or Ultra
- UK / EU
- No
xAI Grok Bot
- Type
- Managed, always-on (beta)
- Price
- SuperGrok or Cursor plans
- UK / EU
- Not stated
Hermes Agent
- Type
- Open source, self-hosted
- Price
- Free + model/hosting costs
- UK / EU
- Yes
NanoClaw
- Type
- Open source, container-isolated
- Price
- Free + model/hosting costs
- UK / EU
- Yes
Nanobot
- Type
- Open source, lightweight Python
- Price
- Free + model/hosting costs
- UK / EU
- Yes
IronClaw
- Type
- Open source, security-focused
- Price
- Free + model/hosting costs
- UK / EU
- Yes
PicoClaw
- Type
- Open source, tiny hardware
- Price
- Free + model/hosting costs
- UK / EU
- Yes
Source: OpenAI Help Center, “Getting started with your dot”; Gemini Apps Help, “Use Gemini Spark to manage your tasks & workflows in Gemini Apps”; Meta, “Introducing Muse: The World’s First Personal AI Agent Built for Everyone”; GitHub (OpenClaw Foundation), “openclaw/openclaw”. Verified October 1, 2026. GitHub details checked on October 1, 2026.
Managed always-on agents: the same idea, no server
OpenAI dots
OpenAI’s always-on agent launched on September 29, 2026. Each dot has its own sandboxed cloud computer, connects to 4,000+ apps through ChatGPT plugins, and can be reached in ChatGPT, Slack and Teams (OpenAI). ZDNet’s launch headline called it “OpenClaw declawed” (ZDNet). You trade model choice and self-hosting for built-in rules, Auto-review and zero setup. It comes with ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium (OpenAI Help Center). Full comparison: dots vs OpenClaw.
Meta Muse
Meta’s personal agent launched on September 8, 2026. It runs on its own secure cloud computer and you talk to it in the Muse app or WhatsApp, which makes it the closest consumer match to OpenClaw’s chat-app style (Meta). It’s free for most tasks, with paid plans reported at $20 and $100 a month (GuruFocus via Yahoo Finance), but US-only for now. See dots vs Muse.
Google Gemini Spark
Spark works in the background across Gmail, Calendar, Drive, Docs and other Google apps, and can run up to 15 tasks at a time. It needs Google AI Pro or Ultra and a personal Google Account, and isn’t available in the EEA, Nigeria, Switzerland or the UK (Gemini Apps Help). See dots vs Gemini Spark.
xAI Grok Bot
Always-on agents with their own cloud computer, in beta for SuperGrok subscribers and Cursor Pro, Pro+, Ultra and Teams plans (xAI).
Microsoft Copilot Autopilot
An always-on agent mode for Copilot in Microsoft 365, announced on September 25, 2026 as a private preview for enterprises (Microsoft). Not an option for individuals yet.
Open-source, self-hosted alternatives
These keep OpenClaw’s model: you host it, pick the AI model and keep your data. A community list tracks 30+ rewrites and forks (GitHub (T31K)); these are the most established. Star counts are as of October 1, 2026.
Hermes Agent (Nous Research)
MIT-licensed, around 250,000 stars. Works with any model provider, talks to you over Telegram, Discord, Slack, WhatsApp, Signal or the command line, and has a built-in scheduler for unattended jobs. Its pitch is a learning loop: it creates and improves skills from experience (GitHub (Nous Research)).
NanoClaw
MIT-licensed, around 31,000 stars. Describes itself as a lightweight OpenClaw alternative that runs in containers for security, connects to WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Discord and Gmail, and is built on Anthropic’s Agents SDK (GitHub (NanoClaw)). A good fit if OpenClaw’s host-level access is your main worry.
Nanobot (HKUDS)
MIT-licensed, around 49,000 stars. An ultra-lightweight Python agent framework with a web UI, memory, MCP support, multi-agent workflows and chat-app integrations (GitHub (HKUDS)).
IronClaw (NEAR AI)
Apache-2.0, around 13,000 stars. An “agent OS” focused on privacy, security and extensibility (GitHub (NEAR AI)).
PicoClaw (Sipeed)
MIT-licensed, around 30,000 stars. A small Go binary designed to run on very cheap hardware (GitHub (Sipeed)).
Task and scheduled agents
If what you really used OpenClaw for was “every morning, check X and report back”, a scheduled agent may be enough. Claude Cowork can run scheduled and recurring tasks (Claude Help Center), and Manus runs longer tasks in its own cloud environment (Wikipedia). Neither is always-on in the same way.
How to choose
- You never want to touch a server: dots if you live in ChatGPT, Slack or Teams; Spark if you live in Gmail and Drive; Muse if you’re in the US and want WhatsApp.
- Security is the reason you’re leaving: a managed agent, or NanoClaw or IronClaw if you want to stay self-hosted.
- You want OpenClaw’s flexibility with more features: Hermes Agent.
- You’re in the UK or EU: any self-hosted option, or dots through ChatGPT Business Premium. See dots availability.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best alternative to OpenClaw?
If you want the same always-on idea without running a server, OpenAI dots, Meta Muse and Google Gemini Spark are managed options from the big labs. If you want to stay open source and self-hosted, Hermes Agent and NanoClaw are the most popular choices, with NanoClaw focused on container isolation.
Is there a safer alternative to OpenClaw?
Managed agents such as OpenAI dots run in the provider’s sandbox with built-in approval checks. Among open-source projects, NanoClaw runs agents in containers and IronClaw is built around privacy and security, though you’re still responsible for how you deploy them.
Is OpenAI dots an OpenClaw alternative?
Yes. Dots is OpenAI’s managed take on an always-on personal agent, launched on September 29, 2026. ZDNet’s launch headline described it as OpenClaw declawed. It needs ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium.
What’s a free OpenClaw alternative?
The open-source projects on this page (Hermes Agent, NanoClaw, Nanobot, IronClaw, PicoClaw) are free software, but you pay for the AI model and the machine they run on. Meta Muse has a free tier for most tasks, in the US only.
Which OpenClaw alternative works in the UK or EU?
Self-hosted open-source agents run anywhere. Of the managed options, dots is available in Europe on ChatGPT Business Premium; Gemini Spark, Muse and dots on ChatGPT Pro aren’t available there yet.
Sources
- GitHub (OpenClaw Foundation): openclaw/openclaw (official, published September 30, 2026, checked October 1, 2026)
- Wikipedia: OpenClaw (media report, published September 30, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
- Unit 42, Palo Alto Networks: OpenClaw and the AI supply chain risk (media report, published June 23, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
- ZDNet: OpenAI’s Dots: Like OpenClaw declawed - for $200/mo ChatGPT Pro users (media report, published September 29, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
- OpenAI: Introducing dots (official, published September 29, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
- OpenAI Help Center: Getting started with your dot (official, published September 29, 2026, checked October 1, 2026)
- Meta: Introducing Muse: The World’s First Personal AI Agent Built for Everyone (official, published September 8, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
- GuruFocus via Yahoo Finance: Meta’s Muse arrives with three pricing tiers (media report, published September 9, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
- Gemini Apps Help: Use Gemini Spark to manage your tasks & workflows in Gemini Apps (official, published October 1, 2026, checked October 1, 2026)
- xAI: Introducing Grok Bot (official, published August 11, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
- Microsoft: Introducing the new Copilot with Home, Code and Autopilot (official, published September 25, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
- GitHub (Nous Research): NousResearch/hermes-agent (official, published October 1, 2026, checked October 1, 2026)
- GitHub (NanoClaw): nanocoai/nanoclaw (official, published October 1, 2026, checked October 1, 2026)
- GitHub (HKUDS): HKUDS/nanobot (official, published October 1, 2026, checked October 1, 2026)
- GitHub (NEAR AI): nearai/ironclaw (official, published October 1, 2026, checked October 1, 2026)
- GitHub (Sipeed): sipeed/picoclaw (official, published October 1, 2026, checked October 1, 2026)
- GitHub (T31K): Awesome OpenClaw Alternatives (media report, published October 1, 2026, checked October 1, 2026)
- Claude Help Center: Schedule recurring tasks in Claude Cowork (official, published September 30, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
- Wikipedia: Manus (AI agent) (media report, published September 30, 2026, checked September 30, 2026)
Dots is new and changes fast. If something here is out of date, the official pages win.